The State of Assam is divided into 33 Administrative Districts. The districts are demarcated on the basis of the features such as the rivers, hills, forests, etc. The majority of the newly constituted districts are sub-divisions of the earlier districts.

On 15 August 2015, five new districts were formed in addition to former 27 districts which are Biswanath, Charaideo, Hojai, South Salmara-Mankachar and West Karbi Anglong. On 27 June 2016, Majuli was also declared as a district. 

The Districts of Assam are further placed under five Regional Divisions. The Barak Valley division comprise of the districts of Cachar, Hailakandi, and Karimganj. The Central Assam division comprise of Dima Hasao, Hojai, East Karbi Anglong, West Karbi Anglong, Morigaon, and Nagaon districts. The districts of Baksa, Barpeta, Bongaigaon, Chirang, Dhubri, Goalpara, Nalbari, Kamrup Metropolitan, Kamrup Rural, Kokrajhar, and South Salmara-Mankachar fall under the Lower Assam division. The districts of Biswanath, Darang, Sonitpur and Ulalguri fall under the North Assam division. The Upper Assam division comprises of the districts Charaideo, Dhemaji, Dibrugarh, Golaghat, Jorhat, Lakhimpur, Majuli, Sivasagar, and Tinsukia. 

The list of 33 districts of Assam is given below: 
1.    Baksa
2.    Barpeta
3.    Biswanath
4.    Bongaigaon
5.    Cachar
6.    Charaideo
7.    Chirang
8.    Darrang
9.    Dhemaji
10.    Dhubri
11.    Dibrugarh
12.    Dima Hasao
13.    Goalpara
14.    Golaghat
15.    Hailakandi
16.    Hojai
17.    Jorhat
18.    Kamrup Metropolitan
19.    Kamrup
20.    Karbi Anglong
21.    Karimganj
22.    Kokrajhar
23.    Lakhimpur
24.    Majuli
25.    Morigaon
26.    Nagaon
27.    Nalbari
28.    Sivasagar
29.    Sonitpur
30.    South Salmara-Mankachar
31.    Tinsukia
32.    Udalguri
33.    West Karbi Anglong

Karbi Anglong is the largest district of Assam with nearly 10,434 square kilometers of undivided area followed by Sonitpur with an area of 5324 square kilometers. Majuli carved out of the Northern parts of Jorhat is the first river island district of India. 

Validity From
Validity To